logo

by

logo

Mullvad VPN Reviews

Based on 83 reviews from hackernews.com, reddit.com, and more.
Report

Review Highlights

  • Great for privacy
  • Easy to use
  • Good for torrenting
  • Works well in China
  • No DNS leaks

Rating per Category

Data source: "VPN comparison sheet" by u/paperplans5

JURISDICTION
AUDITED NO LOGS POLICY
SPEED
PROTOCOLS
ENCRYPTION

Reviews by Topic

Our analysis shows how reviewers feel about different topics.

Privacy

(1/10)

Don't trust forks much, As i rather put my data with firefox plus mullvad vpn works with them on their vpn service. And mullvad is a really good privacy vpn..

Positive
xbdm
3 months ago

Security Features

(1/7)

How would i go about configuring mullvad vpn in the 'proxy server' tab? is it even necessary? i tested a leak when connected to mullvad and there was none, but does filling in that tab make you more secure? How would i go about configuring mullvad vpn in the 'proxy server' tab? is it even necessary? i tested a leak when connected to mullvad and there was none, but does filling in that tab make you more secure? Also, when im on vpn, would i have to change my port? I tried testing if port was open on another site and it said it didnt work, but torrenting is relatively fine, although it seems like thats whats stopping a few peers from connecting. when i checked w/o vpn it said it was success, which is why im thinking i have to edit something there. Would i have to enable NAT as well through mullvad, or is that not possible?

Neutral
Sainite
5 months ago

Reliability

(1/6)

I am not sure how to fix this. I've been using Mullvad for a few years and never had a leak when using the app. I just changed computers and installed the app and got this leak result. Is there anything I should do? I tried to do an internet search to fix this and I simply get confused reading all the "DNS speak" that is all over the internet- I just don't understand it which is why I purchased a VPN service with an app that is just supposed to work

Neutral
whats_it_to_you77
4 months ago

Speed

(1/2)

Talking about Express and others, Mullvad have the best speed during my personal experience. (I tried paid subscription to Ghost, Express, ProtonVPN and Nord.)

Positive
ruslantrad
8 months ago

Cost

(1/2)

It is a bit pricey compared to the competition (lots of VPNs out there that cost ~$3/month) but apparently Mullvad is the VPN provider for this offering, and they cost $5 a month because they are considered one of the 'best' VPNs in terms of privacy (for example, they will accept cash payments: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mullvad#Privacy ).

Neutral
robrtsql
2 years ago

Encryption

(1/1)

Not sure where that stands now.Oh! But to your question: Mullvad VPN seems to be highly regarded, and has an option to configure a recurring payment that they (claim to) decouple from your identity. Their service even supports defining multi-hop routes.And to be clear: My goal is to obfuscate my identity from malicious individuals (think: politician that wants to be kinky, but has to resort to online interactions during COVID lockdown, and wants to avoid both simple tracert IP identification as well as a potential password breach & leak of social media platform X)

Positive
Darkphibre
1 year ago

Reddit Discussion

3
r/mullvadvpn • Posted by u/AdIntelligent3045 2 months ago

Issues with Wireguard.

2 Comments
Negative
Help Needed
10
r/mullvadvpn • Posted by u/WhiteNinjaOz 2 months ago

Spotify is blocked when Mullvad is enabled

5 Comments
Neutral

Hacker News Discussion

LibreWolf is a pretty good firefox fork, But i would always use firefox with tweaks and user.js. Don't trust forks much, As i rather put my data with firefox plus mullvad vpn works with them on their vpn service. And mullvad is a really good privacy vpn...

Posted by xbdm 3 months ago on: LibreWolf – A fork of Firefox, focused on privacy, security and freedom

You're absolutely right! I could be paid to recommend Mullvad and my praise of it should be taken with a grain of salt!The point I was trying to make is that it is not a small provider, it is well rated by reputable privacy reviewers such as privacytools.io - who do not use affiliate link or take payment from providers - so there is no reason it should be ignored by Sven Taylor. I'm less trying to praise this particular VPN than to show that that review website is somewhat "provably" an affiliate link farm.

Posted by ucha 3 months ago on: Kape Now Owns ExpressVPN, CyberGhost, PIA, Zenmate, and VPN “Review” Sites

More Alternatives