logo

by

logo

Private Internet Access Reviews

Based on 131 reviews from hackernews.com, reddit.com, and more.
Report
Private Internet Access
Based on 14 reviews

Review Highlights

  • Made for privacy
  • Reliable and fast
  • Unlimited bandwidth
  • Easy to use client app
  • Passthrough lists for apps

Plans

Rating per Category

Data source: "VPN comparison sheet" by u/paperplans5

JURISDICTION
AUDITED NO LOGS POLICY
SPEED
PROTOCOLS
ENCRYPTION

Reviews by Topic

Our analysis shows how reviewers feel about different topics.

Security

(1/42)

I am using the local pia vpn server, not one in another country. Yet netflix restricts my access since it detects my IP as a VPN one (PIA). Yeah, it's Netflix fault that this is happening, but IT IS PIA's FAULT THAT WE ARE LIED TO ABOUT IT.

Negative
keintabak
6 months ago

Privacy

(1/27)

I paid a whole year of PIA and got hacked to shit to where they had a backdoor in my VPN itself. Not sure how it works but then I just switched for privacy.

Positive
lovepussydrugs
6 months ago

Encryption

(1/5)

I guess just look at private internet access and CyberGhost, they are owned by kape but they still provide the same privacy and they are still the same nothing is different, kape is worrying but it shouldn’t change anything, ExpressVPN would’ve thought twice if they knew that kape would change the vpn, they are still the same company with the same security

Positive
TadPet05
7 months ago

Speed

(1/3)

Only PIA seems to be faster in my limited exp with VPNs. I think it is Mullvad which is highly recommended on privacy forums but not sure personally. Until proton I always was talked Private Internet Access was top tier. It also seemed to work with Netflix and such yet no other VPN will

Positive
lovepussydrugs
6 months ago

Pricing

(1/1)

Private Internet Access it’s like $70 a year last time I purchased. I believe they have a new year special that’s like $90-110 for 3 years and 2 extra months. I’ve used the service for 10 years and I love it. It runs great on my iPhone, Mac, and Raspberry Pi (Linux)

Positive
TheHydrationStation
1 year ago

Server Locations

(1/1)

The fastest server is now in Israel, while the servers near me are 1/3 slower. [I'm in the US.](https://imgur.com/HbBQUbV) Bye, PIA!

Negative
gruuvey
7 months ago

Reddit Discussion

1
r/PrivateInternetAccess • Posted by u/keintabak 6 months ago

Netflix Error code M7037-1111

3 Comments
Negative
0
r/PrivateInternetAccess • Posted by u/WestImpression 7 months ago

Project Raven: PIA/ExpressVPN - Kape Technologies Connection - Daniel Gericke

4 Comments
Neutral

Hacker News Discussion

Mid-way through the article:”I learned this the hard way. For several years, I subscribed to a popular VPN service called Private Internet Access.”Well, yeah, stop buying crappy VPN services built by Mt. Gox cofounder "tech" bros who conduct illegal hostile takeovers of IRC networks for the "lols".Still, I guess Chen's writing is an upgrade over David Pogue...

Posted by liamwestray 6 months ago on: It’s Time to Stop Paying for a VPN

Private Internet Access.I used to use NordVPN but found it to be much slower, less stable, worse macOS integration, not as good on the privacy front.

Posted by danpalmer 10 months ago on: Apple's iCloud+ “VPN”

More Alternatives