logo

by

logo

ProtonVPN Reviews

Based on 415 reviews from reddit.com, hackernews.com, and more.
Report
ProtonVPN
Based on 15 reviews

Review Highlights

  • Great for privacy
  • Good speeds
  • Secure core
  • No logging
  • Basic interface

Plans

Rating per Category

Data source: "VPN comparison sheet" by u/paperplans5

JURISDICTION
AUDITED NO LOGS POLICY
SPEED
PROTOCOLS
ENCRYPTION

Reviews by Topic

Our analysis shows how reviewers feel about different topics.

Security

(1/69)

For example. ProtonVPN was dinged for not having done an independent security audit in the past 24 months. However, this ignores the fact that ProtonVPN is open source, so its continuously independently audited, which is a better security model than periodic audits.

Negative
ProtonMail
4 months ago

Software Support

(1/52)

I'm evaluating Protonvpn with the free version. WiFi is connected. Internet, iMessage is working.

Positive
JoesCat
4 months ago

Speed

(1/27)

I'm evaluating Protonvpn with the free version. WiFi is connected. Internet, iMessage is working.

Positive
JoesCat
4 months ago

Encryption

(1/7)

I think simply using ProtonVPN makes you a lot safer, ISPs can't see what you're doing with your WiFi.

Positive
jimcat12480
5 months ago

Pricing

(1/4)

ProtonVPN was costlier, but I think it justified its cost.

Positive
rochak
1 year ago

Logging Policy

(1/1)

Therefore, we are unable to comply with requests for user connection logs, even if they are legally binding. You can read more about this here: [https://protonvpn.com/blog/transparency-report/](https://protonvpn.com/blog/transparency-report/)

Negative
protonvpn
1 year ago

Reddit Discussion

6
r/ProtonVPN • Posted by u/JoesCat 4 months ago

Iphone "Call failed"

6 Comments
Negative
Help!
0
r/ProtonVPN • Posted by u/zlee415 4 months ago

Tinychat

1 Comments
Negative
Help!

Hacker News Discussion

It is really nice, OpenVPN is good, but it is definitely harder to configure, and slower. I also like that it is hard to shoot yourself in the foot with Wireguard given it is really hard to mess up and create an insecure config.ProtonVPN is also at least a bit better than other commercial VPNs, specifically the "Secure Core" feature is quite good. Proton is one of only like two or three companies I actually trust when it comes to their security and honesty.

Posted by TravisHusky 6 months ago on: Full WireGuard Support in ProtonVPN for Android

The utility in a VPN is in travelling, not at home. I’m not sure if I trust ProtonVPN more than I trust my ISP, but I sure as hell trust them more than I trust the little hotel I stayed at in Brooklyn.Long term I’ll probably just solve this by setting up a VPN server at home, so I can tunnel through to my local services and protect myself from wifi endpoints I use on the go.

Posted by ashtonkem 7 months ago on: ExpressVPN employees complain about ex-spy's top role at company

More Alternatives